Thursday, November 7, 2013

During Community Volunteers in Medicine’s 15th anniversary Celebration of Volunteers, Teva Pharmaceuticals and the Philadelphia Eagles partnered with generous community donors to host an evening recognizing the daily contributions of CVIM’s 300 licensed clinician and professional support volunteers.  As is tradition at the clinic’s annual volunteer celebration, CVIM gave special recognition awards to those volunteers who have donated their time and talent through CVIM for 5, 10, and now 15 years.  The evening’s emcee Merrill Reese, the Voice of the Eagles, and Eagles long snapper Joe Dorenbos co-presented the Volunteer Awards.

Those volunteers recognized for 5 years of service include:

  • Linda Beisty – Front Office Support
  • Linda DeNardo – Dental Support and Patient Advocacy
  • Kathleen Fischer, RN – Nurse
  • Barbara Fitzgerald – Front Office Support
  • Morrie Gold, MD – Physician
  • Sherry Gold – Dental Support
  • Barbara Harkness, RN – Nurse
  • Isabel Olmsted – Interpreter
  • Nancy Reynolds, Ph.D. – Counselor
  • Cathy Ronck – Patient Advocacy
  • Todd Sagin, MD – Physician
  • Sue Tiernan – Front Office Support
  • Joseph Virgulti, DMD – Dentist
Those volunteers recognized for 10 years of service include:

  • Lee Atticks – Facilities Management
  • Kevin Browngoehl, MD – Physician
  • John Fitzgerald, DMD – Dentist
  • Vincent Gerardi, DMD – Orthodontist
  • Dolores Gincley, RN – Nurse
  • Edward Goodrich, MD – Physician
  • Paul Gormley – Interpreter
  • Ellen Gross, MD – Physician
  • Edward Grossman, DMD – Dentist
  • Gregory Hess, MD – Physician and Former CVIM Board Member
  • Blair LeRoy, MD – Physician
  • James McCabe, MD – Physician
  • Betty Parry – Chart Room Management
  • Scott Smith, DDS – Periodontist
  • Margaret Stroz, MD – Physician
  • Matthew Swiatek, DMD – Orthodontist
  • Yvonne Ward, RN – Nurse
  • Charles Wolf, MD – Physician
To do anything for 15 years is a long time, but to have the passion, belief, and dedication to donate such time to serve others for so long is inspiring.  Those volunteers recognized for 15 years of service include:

  • Kathleen ‘Murfee’ Aceto, RN – Nurse and CVIM Board Member
  • Polly Baugh – Front Office Support
  • Wanda Beilenson, RPH – Pharmacist
  • Elizabeth Brecht – Administrative Support
  • Virginia Fanfera – Original Patient Advocate Coordinator and Former CVIM Board Member
  • Peter Hillyer, MD – Physician and Former CVIM Board Member
  • Graeme Hudson, DMD – Dentist
  • Sally Hull – Front Office Support
  • Janet Marra, RDH – HIV Program Coordinator and Former Volunteer Dental Hygienist
  • Nancie Pidge-Moore, RDH – Dental Hygienist
  • Paula Rhodes, RN – Nurse
  • Michele Schwartz, CRNP – Nurse Practitioner
CVIM would like to extend congratulations to these volunteer awardees and deep gratitude for all those who work together at Community Volunteers in Medicine to provide healthcare to their neighbors in need.